Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
You Me Now
You Me Now
Publicité
1 juin 2012

Can you pay my bills? Can you pay my telephone bills?...

Ok, May was a funny month... I started looking for a new flat in the city centre, as I am fed up with living in the south east suburbs where everything seems so far away – except for my school, which is literally down the road! But who wants to live near their workplace?! Ugh.

On Sunday 6 May, I went to the French Consulate to vote for our new president, and on my way, I found this place where they make delicious ‘Chinese testicles’ – don’t worry, no man was harmed to make this dish!... They’re basically rice paste balls stuffed with red bean paste, blueberry mousse, mango cream, etc. It’s really nice, but back in the UK, we didn’t know what they were called and Muriel named them ‘Chinese testicles’ – they do look like balls! – and I’ve always called them so since. So does my mum! Random, I know, but quite funny to hear her say ‘These Chinese testicles are so yummy!’

On Saturday 12 May, Marie-Eve and I went to Blend. A lovely café where we soon realised many sweet, sensitive Chinese guys come to relax. I thought it would become my turf as soon as I’ve moved to the centre, but I went back a couple of times and it’s too Chinese for my taste... if you know what I mean...

On Saturday 19 May, I cried like a 14 years old girl, while watching ‘We were here’, a beautiful documentary about AIDS in San Francisco in the 80s... Nothing funny about it, but a subtle way to encourage you to watch it!

On Thursday 24 May, I turned 31 and ordered a massive amount of food to celebrate. I binge ate and my body resented me for it the next day... wrong move!

On Saturday 26 May, Clare and I went to the Kerry Hotel to have breakfast – one of the best buffet breakfast ever!... but also one of the most expensive... As we were eating our dumplings with fried vegetables with poached eggs with mushrooms with chips, a parent from school came to say hello. Beside the fact that I was embarrassed by the size of my plate, this was this kind of moment when you think ‘Being a teacher is shit! Some parents are annoying! I can’t even have my breakfast in peace! UGH!’ But then, later on, as we left the place and asked for our bill, the waiter told us the bill had been paid by the hotel’s General Manager! Niiice. That’s when you suddenly think ‘Being a teacher rocks! Some parents are cool! I should have eaten more!’.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité